Share article


We notice you're trying to make a purchase from outside of New Zealand.
If you would like to place an order, please email full details to

Thank you,

New Zealand Institute of Architects









Student Design Awards

Model by 2014 student design awards winner Tom Dobinson.

The annual Te Kāhui Whaihanga Resene Student Design Awards programme brings together the top students from each of New Zealand’s four schools of architecture: Waipapa Taumata Rau — University of Auckland, Te Whare Wānanga o Wairaka — Unitec Institute of Technology, Te Herenga Waka — Victoria University of Wellington and Te Wānanga Aronui o Tāmaki Makau Rau — Auckland University of Technology.

Individually or as a group, fifth-year students present their project to a panel of judges. The jury assesses each work and determines the top students of architecture in New Zealand. The winner receives a $5,000 prize plus a book voucher and two highly commended prizes are also awarded.

The 2023 Student Design Awards will be held on 30 November

Save the Date: this year's Student Design Awards will be at on 30 November at St Matthew-in-the-City, Tamaki Makaurau Auckland

Other awards