Share article


We notice you're trying to make a purchase from outside of New Zealand.
If you would like to place an order, please email full details to

Thank you,

New Zealand Institute of Architects











2024 Waikato & Bay of Plenty Architecture Awards shortlist

18 March 2024

Thirty-two projects have been shortlisted in the 2024 Waikato & Bay of Plenty Architecture Awards.

The shortlisted projects were selected from entries in the awards programme of the Waikato & Bay of Plenty Branch of Te Kāhui Whaihanga New Zealand Institute of Architects.

The shortlist was compiled by a jury led by architect Matt Grant and rounded out by Malcolm Taylor (Malcolm Taylor Architects), Carl de Leeuw (WSP), Colette McCartney (GHD Design), and lay juror Anna Wilkinson (Area Design).

The winners will be announced on Thursday 02 May.

Book now.

Commercial Architecture

Union Square - Building E by Chow:Hill Architects

Te Rito O Manaaki Ora by DCA Architects of Transformation

Bricks and Mortar by Edwards White Architects

MADE by Edwards White Architects

Wai Ariki by RCG and Pukeroa Oruawhata Lakefront Holdings in association

Hobbiton Bagshot Row by Tilt Architecture

Amohia Ake by Warren and Mahoney Architects

Ibex Lighting by Wingate Architects



The Pā by Architectus, Jasmax and Design Tribe

Te Kura o Manunui by ASC Architects

Tauranga Boys’ College – New Teaching Block by Designgroup Stapleton Elliott



Whareroa by Bossley Architects

Matua Masterclass by Brendon Gordon Architects

French Pass House by Christopher Beer Architect

The Chodge by DCA Architects of Transformation

Coromandel House by Evelyn McNamara Architecture

Lake Taupo House by RTA Studio

Grace by Stevens Lawson Architects

House on a hill by Stufkens + Chambers Architects

Stud Farm Residence by Sumich Chaplin Architects


Housing - Alterations & Additions

He Iti Ake by Architecture Bureau


Housing - Multi Unit

Hills Residences by Edwards White Architects


Interior Architecture

Hamilton Kirikiriroa Airport by ​​AWA Architects

Baker Tilly Staples Rodway Fitout by Chow:Hill Architects

BBO Fitout by Edwards White Architects


Public Architecture

Puna Kaukau o Te Oko Horoi - Perry Aquatic Centre by Architecture HDT

Te Kete Aronui Rototuna Library by Chow:Hill Architects

Hamilton Gardens, Ancient Egyptian Garden by Peddle Thorp Architects


Small Project Architecture

Summerhill Pavilions '21 & '22 by Andrew Barrie Lab

Whare Mīmīrū by Anthony Hoete Architect and Dr Jeremy Treadwell in association

Sunset Cottage - Bridging Generations through Design by DCA Architects of Transformation

The Garden Room by Edwards White Architects