Share article


We notice you're trying to make a purchase from outside of New Zealand.
If you would like to place an order, please email full details to

Thank you,

New Zealand Institute of Architects











2024 Gisborne & Hawke's Bay Architecture Awards shortlist

27 March 2024

Twenty-six projects have been shortlisted in the 2024 Gisborne & Hawke’s Bay Architecture Awards

The shortlisted projects were selected from entries in the awards programme of the Gisborne & Hawke’s Bay Branch of Te Kāhui Whaihanga New Zealand Institute of Architects.

The shortlist was compiled by a jury led by Ann Galloway of Ann Galloway Architect and rounded out by Christina van Bohemen (Sills van Bohemen), Pierre Du Toit (Fat Parrot Architecture), and graduate architect Jess Stent.

The winners will be announced on Friday 14 June.

Book now.

Commercial Architecture

Kaweka Hospital - Stage I by Architecture HDT Hawkes Bay

Tribune by RTA Studio

Joll Road Laneways - Stage 2 by RTA Studio



Te Whare Te Manukura by Atkinson Harwood Architecture

Heretaunga Intermediate School by DCA Architects of Transformation



Toitoi Municipal Building, Hastings by Matthews & Matthews Architects



Black Beech House by Bonnifait + Associates Architects

The Woolshed's Sibling by Chloe Coles

Bone / Moroney House by Clarkson Architects

Matarua Rise House by Clarkson Architects

Tākapu by Daniel Marshall Architect

Punakerua by Designgroup Stapleton Elliott and Crosson Architects in association

Bayview House by Designgroup Stapleton Elliott

Matarua Rise by Dorrington Atcheson Architects

Haumoana House by Glamuzina Architects

Mahia Retreat by Hoogerbrug Architects

Te Mata House by Rowe Baetens Architecture

Westshore House by Three Sixty Architecture


Housing - Multi Unit

St Aubyn Village Estate by Designgroup Stapleton Elliott


Interior Architecture

GCT Office by Atkinson Harwood Architecture

Joll Road Laneways - Stage 2 Interiors by RTA Studio and AGD in association


Public Architecture

Kiwa Pools by Architecture HDT

Catholic Parish of Napier Mission & Administration Building by Atkinson Harwood Architecture and Graham Weaver Architecture in association

Waiohiki Marae Wharenui by Designgroup Stapleton Elliott

Napier War Memorial by Designgroup Stapleton Elliott


Small Project Architecture

Windsor ZS 11kV Switchboard Upgrade by Charissa Snijders Architect