Share article


We notice you're trying to make a purchase from outside of New Zealand.
If you would like to place an order, please email full details to

Thank you,

New Zealand Institute of Architects











2020 Southern Architecture Awards shortlist announced

02 April 2020

Twenty-four projects have been shortlisted in the 2020 Southern Architecture Awards.

The shortlisted projects were selected from a strong roster of entries in the awards programme of the Southern Branch of Te Kāhui Whaihanga New Zealand Institute of Architects (NZIA).

The shortlist was compiled by a jury led by Queenstown architect Stacey Farrell and including fellow architects Eliska Lewis (Wanaka) and Cameron Pollock (Auckland), and broadcaster Marcus Lush.

“Making an awards shortlist decided by your peers is a significant achievement for any architect,” said jury convenor Stacey Farrell. “It is also great to see the difference good architecture is making in the communities of our region.”

“The shortlist includes outstanding examples of a wide range of the types of buildings that architects design,” Farrell said.

The jury shortlisted commercial buildings and hospitality venues, a university business school and aquatic centre and more than a dozen of the bespoke private houses that are a feature of the architecture of Central Otago in particular.

The COVID-19 lockdown has meant that site visits to shortlisted projects by juries around the country have been put on hold. Resumption of the visits or the adoption of alternative means of deciding award-winners are dependent on the national measures adopted to combat the COVID-19 pandemic.


Commercial Architecture

  • Wanaka Watersports Facility by Alistair Madill Architects 
  • Koura Apartments by Johnston Architects


  • University of Otago Business School by Mason & Wales Architects 


  • Aosta by Anna-Marie Chin Architects 
  • Te Kano Estate Tasting Room by Mason & Wales Architects 

Interior Architecture

  • Lake Hayes Cottage by Anna-Marie Chin Architects 
  • Dunbar Dental Fitout by Parker Warburton Team Architects 
  • WorkSafe Office Fitout by Parker Warburton Team Architects 

Small Project Architecture

  • Abodo Showcase Cardrona by Assembly Architects 
  • Arrowtown Houses by Hofmans Architects 
  • Long Grass House by Rafe Maclean Architects


  • Willow House by AQA Alessandro Quadrelli Architetto
  • Bendemeer House by Assembly Architects 
  • Scott House Mt Barker by Assembly Architects 
  • Ruby Ridge House by Condon Scott Architects 
  • Lake Hawea House by Condon Scott Architects 
  • St Marks Lane by Dorrington Atcheson Architects 
  • Te Pakeke by Fearon Hay Architects 
  • Cliff House by Mason & Wales Architects 
  • Wanaka Crib by Pac Studio
  • Lake View House by Parsonson Architects
  • Oliver's Ridge by Team Green Architects 
  • Wanaka House by Three Sixty Architecture
  • Lot 24 Bendemeer by Warren and Mahoney Architects 

Housing - Alterations and Additions

  • Lake Hayes Cottage by Anna-Marie Chin Architects 

Housing - Multi Unit

  • Arrowtown Houses by Hofmans Architects