Share article


We notice you're trying to make a purchase from outside of New Zealand.
If you would like to place an order, please email full details to

Thank you,

New Zealand Institute of Architects








Warren Trust Awards for Architectural Writing

Lyttelton Student Retreat, one subject of Tessa Forde’s award-winning entry in the 2015 writing awards.

Photo by Patrick Reynolds

It’s not easy putting architecture into words, but that’s what entrants in the Warren Trust Awards for Architectural Writing are asked to do.

The awards are a means of encouraging people to write about architecture in an inventive, meaningful and descriptive way. Read the winning and highly commended entries in the Open and Secondary School categories below.

Entries are now open for the 2020 Warren Trust Awards for Architectural Writing! This year's themes are:

1) Write about a building in your community that you know well. Why does the building interest you? What role does it play? How does it bring people together?


2) Write about a building or a place you really want to visit one day. What is special about it? Why does it appeal to you? When do you think you might get there?

Visit our news section to find out more about this year's awards and how to enter. 

2019 winners

This year's entrants were asked to write about the work of an architect and to answer the question: what’s so interesting about their work?

2018 winners

2017 winners

2016 winners

2015 winners

Other awards