# Te Kāhui Whaihanga New Zealand Institute of Architects



# 2020 Southern Architecture Awards - shortlist announced

Twenty-six projects have been shortlisted in the 2020 Southern Architecture Awards.

### Images of all shortlisted projects are available from this Dropbox.

The shortlisted projects were selected from a strong roster of entries in the awards programme of the Southern Branch of Te Kāhui Whaihanga New Zealand Institute of Architects (NZIA). This branch includes Otago, Central Otago and Southland.

The shortlist was compiled by a jury led by Queenstown architect Stacey Farrell and including fellow architects Eliska Lewis (Wanaka) and Cameron Pollock (Auckland), and broadcaster Marcus Lush.

"Making an awards shortlist decided by your peers is a significant achievement for any architect," said jury convenor Stacey Farrell. "It is also great to see the difference good architecture is making in the communities of our region."

"The shortlist includes outstanding examples of a wide range of the types of buildings that architects design," Farrell said.

The jury shortlisted commercial buildings and hospitality venues, a university business school and aquatic centre and more than a dozen of the bespoke private houses that are a feature of the architecture of Central Otago in particular.

The COVID-19 lockdown has meant that site visits to shortlisted projects by juries around the country have been put on hold. Resumption of the visits or the adoption of alternative means of deciding award-winners are dependent on the national measures adopted to combat the COVID-19 pandemic.

The NZIA Architecture Awards programme is supported by Resene.

### For images of all shortlisted projects, got to this Dropbox.

#### Media release: 6 April 2020

#### Contacts:

John Walsh, NZIA Communications Director <u>jwalsh@nzia.co.nz</u> 021 276 7447

Sally Conor, NZIA Content & Communications Manager sconor@nzia.co.nz 022 087 5720

#### 2020 Southern Architecture Awards shortlist by category

#### **Commercial Architecture**

Koura Apartments, Queenstown Johnston Architects

Wanaka Watersports Facility Alistair Madill Architects

#### Education

University of Otago Business School, Dunedin Mason & Wales Architects

#### Hospitality

Aosta, Arrowtown Anna-Marie Chin Architects

Te Kano Estate Tasting Room, Bannockburn Mason & Wales Architects

#### Housing

Bendemeer House, Queenstown Assembly Architects

Cliff House, Dunedin Mason & Wales Architects

Lake Hawea House Condon Scott Architects

Lake View House, Lake Hawea Parsonson Architects Lot 24 Bendemeer, Queenstown Warren and Mahoney Architects

Oliver's Ridge, Arrowtown Team Green Architects

Ruby Ridge House, Wanaka Condon Scott Architects

St Marks Lane, Queenstownu Dorrington Atcheson Architects

Scott House, Mt Barker, Wanaka Assembly Architects

Te Pakeke, Wanaka Fearon Hay Architects

Wanaka Crib PAC Studio

Wanaka House Three Sixty Architecture

Willow House, Queenstown AQA Alessandro Quadrelli Architetto

#### Housing - Alterations and Additions

Lake Hayes Cottage Anna-Marie Chin Architects

#### Housing – Multi-unit

Arrowtown Houses Hofmans Architects

#### **Interior Architecture**

Dunbar Dental Fitout, Dunedin Parker Warburton Team Architects

Lake Hayes Cottage Anna-Marie Chin Architects

WorkSafe Office Fitout, Dunedin Parker Warburton Team Architects

## Small Project Architecture

Abodo Showcase Cardrona Assembly Architects

Arrowtown House Hofmans Architects

Long Grass House, Lake Hawea Rafe Maclean Architects