Te Kāhui Whaihanga New Zealand Institute of Architects



2020 Canterbury Architecture Awards shortlist announced

Thirty-five projects have been shortlisted in the 2020 Canterbury Architecture Awards.

Images of all shortlisted projects are available in this Dropbox.

The shortlisted projects were selected from a record number of entries in the awards programme of the Canterbury Branch of Te Kāhui Whaihanga New Zealand Institute of Architects (NZIA).

The shortlist was compiled by a jury led by Christchurch architect Huia Reriti, fellow Christchurch architects Bernadette Muir and Daniel Sullivan, Wellington architect Anne Kelly, and Christchurch architecture designer Tobin Smith.

"Making the shortlist is a significant achievement, especially in what was a very productive year for architecture in the Canterbury Branch region," said jury convenor Huia Reriti.

"The shortlist includes outstanding examples of the wide range of buildings that architects design, from schools, offices, public buildings and churches to houses and apartments," Reriti said.

Among the projects shortlisted for the 2020 Canterbury Architecture Awards are the restored Christchurch Town Hall and a new town square in Greymouth.

'Starchitecture' is given a new meaning by two shortlisted projects – a building on the Ilam Campus of the University of Canterbury named for the eminent New Zealand astronomer Beatrice Tinsley, and the Dark Sky building in the Aoraki Mackenzie Basin.

The COVID-19 lockdown has meant that site visits to shortlisted projects by juries around the country have been put on hold. Resumption of the visits or the adoption of alternative means of deciding award-winners are dependent on the national measures adopted to combat the COVID-19 pandemic.

The NZIA Architecture Awards programme is supported by Resene.

For images of all shortlisted projects go to the 2020 Canterbury Architecture Awards Dropbox.

Contacts:

John Walsh, NZIA Communications Director jwalsh@nzia.co.nz
021 276 7447

Sally Conor, NZIA Content & Communications Manager sconor@nzia.co.nz
022 087 5720

2020 Canterbury Architecture Awards shortlist by category

Commercial Architecture

Bathroom Pavilion, Ashburton Architype

Kathmandu Building, Christchurch Wilson & Hill Architects

The Welder, Christchurch Three Sixty Architecture

222 High Street, Christchurch Peddle Thorp and Esquisse Design Studio in association

Education

Ao Tawhiti Unlimited Discovery Canterbury, Christchurch Stephenson & Turner NZ

McCombs Performing Arts Centre, Cashmere High School Athfield Architects

Shirley Boys' & Avonside Girls' High Schools ASC Architects

Te Tipu – The Rabbit Patch Preschool, Christchurch PRau

University of Canterbury Te Rāngai Pūtaiao College of Science Beatrice Tinsley Building Jasmax, DJRD Sydney and Royal Associates Architects in association

Heritage

Christchurch Town Hall Warren and Mahoney Architects

Fendalton House Restoration
Herriot Melhuish O'Neill Architects (Wellington studio)

Housing

Cartwright Family Home, Christchurch Bull O'Sullivan Architecture

Chippindale House, Christchurch Stephenson & Turner NZ

Cydonia, Christchurch Don Jamieson Architecture

Hursley Tce, Amberley AW Architects

Hawthorne Street House, Christchurch Sheppard & Rout Architects

Houhere, Banks Peninsula New Work Studio/Tim Nees Architects

Park Terrace, Christchurch PRau

Pavilion House, Christchurch Borrmeister Architects

Ship House, Christchurch Banbury Architects and Upoko Architects in association

Riverside House, Christchurch Three Sixty Architecture

Shark House, Christchurch First Light Studio

Terrace House, Christchurch Sheppard & Rout Architects and C Nott Architects

Wrightmann House, Christchurch Athfield Architects

Housing - Alterations and Additions

Sumner House Herriot Melhuish O'Neill Architects (Wellington studio)

Toto Whare, Lyttelton Bull O'Sullivan Architecture

Housing - Multi-unit

Paragon Apartments, Christchurch Sheppard & Rout Architects

Peak Townhouses, Christchurch Borrmeister Architects

Interior Architecture

ANZCO Foods Head Office, Christchurch Jasmax, Sheppard & Rout Architects and Three Sixty Architecture in association

Novotel Christchurch Airport Hotel Warren and Mahoney Architects

St. Patrick's Church, Lincoln WSP Architecture

Planning & Urban Design

Tainui Street and Town Square, Greymouth WSP Architecture

Public Architecture

Aldersgate Centre, Christchurch Wilkie + Bruce Registered Architects

All Souls Anglican Church, Merivale Warren and Mahoney Architects

Dark Sky Project, Lake Tekapo Sheppard & Rout Architects

Small Project Architecture

Haus Espresso, Christchurch Dalman Architects

University of Canterbury Electrical Link Building Re-clad Warren and Mahoney Architects