Share article


We notice you're trying to make a purchase from outside of New Zealand.
If you would like to place an order, please email full details to

Thank you,

New Zealand Institute of Architects










City revitalising works win Waikato / BOP Architecture Awards

04 May 2018

Projects that breathe new life into the downtown area of New Zealand’s fourth-largest city are among the winners of 2018 Waikato / Bay of Plenty Architecture Awards.

Buildings in central Hamilton join projects from Tauranga, Rotorua and Taupō on the list of 21 award winners that includes revitalised urban parks and commercial buildings, education and sports facilities, cultural and community centres, as well as houses that add to the region’s history of inventive residential architecture. Scroll down for image gallery.

Victoria on the River, Hamilton, by Edwards White Architects and Aecom in association

The 2018 Waikato / Bay of Plenty Architecture Awards are part of the peer-reviewed New Zealand Architecture Awards programme run by the New Zealand Institute of Architects (NZIA) and sponsored by Resene. The programme sets the benchmark for the country’s building projects and recognises the contribution of architects to their towns and communities. 

Taupō architect Gavin Robins convened an awards jury that included New Plymouth architect Murali Bhasker and Hamilton architect Megan Scott. 

Robins said he was heartened to see the steps being taken to improve Hamilton’s inner city. 

“The quality of architecture we saw throughout the region is exemplary, and we were especially happy to see the efforts being taken to reverse the decline of Hamilton’s inner city,” Robins said. “Older buildings are being converted to accommodate modern work practices and provide new leisure opportunities for locals and visitors.”



Winners by category:

Click project links to view more images of each project.

Commercial Architecture

Mezz Box – Edwards White Architects and Designwell in association
Genesis Building – Edwards White Architects
Mangatawa Tari – First Principles Architects 


ACG Tauranga Gymnasium – Babbage Consultants
Tauranga Intermediate School – First Principles Architects 


Wendell B Mendenhall Building – Walker Group Architects
Te Rau Aroha, Kai Hall – Walker Group Architects
George R. Biesinger Building – Walker Group Architects 


Mary’s House – Bellbird Architect
DNA House – Crosson Architects
River Retreat – Edwards White Architects
Walton House – John Henderson Architecture
Turama – RTA Studio
Pukemoremore House – Sumich Chaplin Architects

Interior Architecture

Seeka – Architecture Page Henderson
Kenehi on Bryce – Edwards White Architects
53 Spring Street Interior Fitout – Stufkens + Chambers Architects

Planning and Urban Design

Te Waimirimiri o Te Kuirau – Architecture Aotearoa
Victoria on the River – Edwards White Architects and Aecom in association

Public Architecture

David O. McKay Stake Centre and Cultural Events Centre – Walker Group Architects

Small Project Architecture

Promenade – Stufkens + Chambers Architects