Share article


We notice you're trying to make a purchase from outside of New Zealand.
If you would like to place an order, please email full details to

Thank you,

New Zealand Institute of Architects








2020 Local Architecture Awards

The best architecture of the past year across the NZIA's eight regions

In response to the ongoing impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, our 2020 Local Architecture Awards programme will be presented virtually at eight online ceremonies throughout June, July and August.

All eight ceremonies will be emceed by actor and director Jennifer Te Atamira Ward-Lealand, CNZM.

Dates for each of the eight award ceremonies are listed below. All virtual events will start at 5pm.  

24 June: Waikato & Bay of Plenty Architecture Awards
1 July: Gisborne & Hawke's Bay Architecture Awards
8 July: Canterbury Architecture Awards
15 July: Nelson & Marlborough Architecture Awards
22 July: Wellington Architecture Awards
29 July: Western Architecture Awards
5 August: Auckland Architecture Awards
12 August: Southern Architecture Awards

Sincere thanks to Resene for 30 years of sponsorship for our annual awards programme. 


Virtual awards presentations

From 24 June, you can watch presentations of the 2020 Local Architecture Awards, across the eight branches of the NZIA, here at 5pm every Wednesday. Visit our Local Awards page to find out more about the winning projects in each region.

Local Awards

Awards shortlists

Check out the best architecture in 11 categories across the eight branches of the NZIA.